Create and Manage Workflows in Content Workflow

Writing great content is only one part of content production, the entire creation process is much more involved. Drafts, reviews, edits, approvals all of these things happen in every organization's content strategy. Workflow in Content Workflow streamlines this process so the right people are involved throughout your content's journey, and at the right time. 

A workflow is a series of steps. Typically these start at Draft and finish at Published or Completed, but your workflow is fully customizable to suit your needs. This includes giving each step a name, a description, and a color. 

Each project has a designated default workflow. This workflow is used automatically for newly created items and is also the workflow that you can see represented as a colorful bar on the project cards in your account dashboard.

Create a New Workflow

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Create a new project or open an existing one.
  3. In the top navigation bar, you will see the Workflow tab.
    • By default, all projects have one workflow available. 
  4. Select the Workflow tab.
  5. Select New workflow. You will be taken to the editor.
  6. You can create a workflow from scratch or edit an existing workflow.
  7. Add a name for the step.
  8. (Optional) description include a description of the step for your team. This may include the purpose or use case for the workflow. Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 3.20.55 PM.png
  9. Assign a color to the step.Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 3.22.25 PM.png
    • Tip: Use color wisely. Be consistent with your color choice for different stages of your workflow as it is used to help your team quickly identify the status of content.
  10. (Optional) Select the toggle next to  Read Only if you want to make the item read-only during this step. That means that once the item is assigned to this status the content can no longer be edited. (commenting is still possible). 
  11. (Optional) Select the toggle next to AI Assist if you would like to allow the use of AI Assist on this step. Learn more about AI Assist here.Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 3.25.29 PM.png
  12. (Optional) Select a due date for this step. 
  13. (Optional) Assign a team member who will be notified if the task status changes 
  14.  Once you've added the steps you would like for the selected workflow click Save Changes.  
  15. You can begin applying the workflow to your projects.

 

Assign a Default Workflow

Once you create a new workflow you can assign it as the default workflow to use for all of your projects. 

  1. Follow the steps above to create a new Workflow. 
  2. Once you are ready to complete your workflow select Save changes. 
  3. Select Set as default. 
  4. You can also assign a workflow to be the workflow default in the Workflow tab.
  5. Navigate to the workflow you want to make the default. Select Screenshot 2024-03-01 at 2.01.35 PM.png from the dropdown select Make default. Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 4.18.27 PM.png
  6. You can start using the default workflow in your projects. Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 4.15.04 PM.png

 

Assign someone to a workflow step inside an item

  1. Open an item to view the content editor
  2. View the workflow by clicking on the status name at the top of the screen

Tip: Can't see this button? Check you have permission to assign people. An admin on your account will be able to help you.

3. Click to choose an assignee for the workflow status. Once complete, hit Save.

Assign Someone to a Workflow Step

  1.  Select a Workflow from the available workflows in your project.
  2. Choose which step you want to assign them to and click to assign.

Duplicate a Workflow

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Selec the Workflow tab.
  3. Navigate to the workflow you want to duplicate. Select Screenshot 2024-03-01 at 2.01.35 PM.png from the dropdown select Duplicate.  Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 4.18.27 PM.png
  4. Name the new duplicated workflow.
  5. Select Duplicate.Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 4.21.38 PM.png

Edit an Existing Workflow

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Select the Workflow tab.
  3. Select the workflow you want to edit. 
  4. Once you are done making your changes click Save Changes.

Reorder Workflow Steps

There are two ways to reorder workflow steps. 

  1. Click the step you want to move and drag it.
  2. Or you can select Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 3.56.49 PM.pngto reorder the step.

Delete a Workflow

You can delete workflow as long as it is not the default workflow. If you want to delete the default workflow you will need to make another workflow the default. 

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Select the Workflow tab.
  3. Select Screenshot 2024-03-01 at 2.01.35 PM.pngnext to the workflow you want to delete. Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 4.01.37 PM.png
  4. Select Delete from the dropdown.
  5. Confirm that you want to delete the workflow and select Delete. Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 4.02.16 PM.png

FAQ

What is the number that appears in the corner of the Workflow card.

This number indicates how many items are using that workflow. You can select the icon Screenshot 2024-03-07 at 11.45.27 AM.pngand it will bring you to the Content tab where you can see all of the items that are using the workflow. 

Updated

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community