Add Comments and Subscribe to Conversations in Content Workflow

  • Updated
You can use comments to discuss your content. You can comment directly on text and assets, as well as on an item itself. A record of the conversation will be kept in the comment history.

Comment on Text

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow. 
  2. Either create a new item or open an existing item.
  3. Highlight the text you want to comment on and select the add comment from the formatting toolbar. Alternatively, you can select Screenshot 2024-03-12 at 3.21.20 PM.png located in the toolbar.
  4. Write your comment and select Comment. If you want to notify one of the team, you can type '@' to select a colleague from the list.
    • Tip: Creating a new comment without any text highlighted will apply the comment to the nearest word.
  5.  Your comment will now be visible alongside the text for your team to see. People can reply to your comment by clicking on it, which opens the conversation box.
  6. When replying, comments will be grouped as part of a conversation. If it's a long conversation, we'll show the first and last message as a summary. Click the conversation to see all comments in full.

Comment on an Asset

  1. Upload the asset to an asset field on the item's structure or template.
  2. Hover over the asset, selectScreenshot 2024-03-06 at 8.39.55 PM.png
  3. Summarize your comment and press Comment on an Item
  4. Click on the comments button in the top bar.
  5. If there are currently no comments left on an item, you'll be presented with a blank slate with the option to leave a comment.
  6. If comments are left on an item, you'll see those comments and the option to add a new comment.
  7. Clicking either of these buttons will open a new comment box to allow you to add a new comment. You can reply to existing conversations in just the same way as described previously.

Subscribe to a Conversation

Whenever you leave a comment in a conversation, you're automatically subscribed to that conversation. This means you're kept up to date on any responses to that conversation. These updates will be included in your email notifications.

You can manually subscribe or unsubscribe by selecting the Bell - notifications.png

Share a Conversation

  1. You can share a conversation by selecting Screenshot 2024-03-06 at 8.47.17 PM.png  at the top of the conversation box.
  2. This will copy a URL to the conversation to your clipboard.
  3. People who visit the link will be taken directly to the conversation you've shared.

Tip: Shared conversations are not public, and will only be visible to users on your account with the required permissions.

Edit or Delete a Comment

You can edit or delete an existing comment from an item if you made the original comment.

  1. Select Screenshot 2024-03-01 at 2.01.35 PM.png next to the comment you wish to edit or delete and select your option.
  2. You'll be asked to confirm your choice when deleting.

Delete a Conversation

To delete an entire conversation must be an admin or be the creator of the conversation (i.e. leave the first comment).

  1. Select the first comment.
  2. Select Delete.
  3. You will be asked to confirm your choice, select Delete conversation to confirm, or otherwise, click Cancel.

Tip: Deleting a conversation will remove all c, comments from within that conversation, and there will be no trace of the conversation.

 

Resolve a Conversation

If a conversation or comment has come to a natural end, you can resolve it to remove it from the item. You can always view previously resolved conversations from the comment history.

  1. Select the conversation you wish to resolve.
  2. Select the Resolve.

Unresolved a Comment

If you resolve a comment by mistake, you have 5 seconds to undo this.

  1. Select undo, as shown in the comment you've resolved.
  2. After 5 seconds, the comment becomes resolved automatically if you do not select undo.

Tip: This feature is only available while editing content inside an item. It's not available in the comment history. It's also not possible to unresolve older comments.

 

View the Comment History

The comment history shows the conversations that have taken place on that item.

  1. To view the comment history, navigate to the item menu from the top bar.
  2. From the list, select comment history.
  3. You'll see the comment history, where you can see all comments on this item. The comments are attached to the content on which they were made, and the field title is shown for reference.
  4. There are tabs at the top to see resolved, unresolved, or all comments.
  5. Select to go back to editing the item.

 

FAQ 

There is no content related to my comment. 

When content relating to a comment or conversation is deleted, the associated comment(s) are moved into the comment history. This is because these comments no longer have any content to attach to. If you see there are unresolved comments on an item, but don't see any comments in the item, this is likely the reason.

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community