Building a Project in Content Workflow

  • Updated

A project could be a number of things: it might be a full website, a section of a website, a series of blog posts, an email campaign, or even a book or presentation. You may also want to break a larger project down into multiple projects to help manage the workload.

Create a New Project 

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Go to your Account Dashboard and select Start new project

Tip: If you can’t see this button, it will be because you don't have the create projects permission enabled on your role. You can ask your Account Owner to grant you this permission.

Adding People to a Project

Depending on roles and permissions, it may be necessary to manually add someone to a project before they can access it.

You can manage your people from the People & Groups section, found by clicking on your people icon.

 

 

  1. Select the person you want to add to a project.
  2. Select the project you want them to access from either list of projects or the toolbar across the bottom of the page.
  3. When you've selected all relevant projects, confirm them by clicking assign projects.

 

Customizing Project Workflow

Your project workflow is the set of steps that can be applied to items to communicate their progress.

Aproject workflow can be unique to every project in your account. It’s like the checkpoints a piece of content needs to go through before it can be considered ready for publishing. You can consider things like SEO, legal reviews, export processes, and other stages of content development.

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Open the Workflow tab in one of your projects. This is where you will see your current workflow.
  3. You can reorder steps in 2 ways; by dragging them up and down or using the toggle arrows in the settings bar. Screen Recording 2023-07-26 at 12.10.00 PM
  4. To add a new workflow step select the Add new step at the bottom of the page. You can also add a step in between others by clicking configure-users_plus-sign.png
  5. You can create a name and description for the step by filling in the prompts. We recommend providing as much information as possible in your description to help your stakeholders understand what needs to be done at this step. Screen Recording 2023-07-26 at 12.14.32 PM
  6. You can enable AI Assist or make the step 'read-only' by switching the appropriate toggles to green. Enabling 'read-only' means that the content cannot be edited whilst at that step.
  7. (Optional) Certain Content Workflow plans allow you to customize your project workflow, by automatically setting the due dates and workflow assignees.

    Tip: If you delete a workflow step, any items currently sat on that step will be reverted to 'Draft' or the first step in the workflow.

Managing Folders

Folders form the structure of your sitemap and contain items within your project.

 

Create a Folder

When you create a new project, you'll see a folder with the same name in the sidebar.

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Click or hover on the project folder, and then click the Create folder.
  3. Type the name of the folder, and then click anywhere on the page or press Enter/Return on your keyboard to save. You can add items within a folder, by clicking it in the sidebar, and then selecting Create new item.

 

 

Move a Folder

  1. To move a folder in the hierarchy, click it in the sidebar and drag it to a new location.
  2. The end location will be indicated by a blue line.

 

Screen Recording 2023-03-27 at 12.28.32 PM
  • To nest a folder, drag it onto another folder. It will then appear nested underneath.

 

Screen Recording 2023-03-27 at 12.26.36 PM

 

Rename or Delete a folder

  1. To rename a folder, click or hover on it in the sidebar and then click Screenshot 2024-01-03 at 12.57.51 PM.png
  2. Select Rename folder to rename or Move to Trash to delete.

 

 

Viewing the Project Hierarchy

Viewing the project hierarchy shows the folder structure and the items within each folder of the project. You can collapse and expand any folder in the hierarchy by clicking on it, which will collapse all the items underneath. This allows you to easily view the structure of your project at different levels. From the hierarchy view you can also create new folders and items.

 

Screen Recording 2023-03-27 at 12.40.55 PM

 

Changing the Text Direction

You can change the text direction in a specific project to make it possible to gather content in different languages. This will only affect the content element fields on your pages, so other interface content will always remain left to right.The text direction setting is unique to every project and can be changed at any time. 

 

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Select Project Settings.
  3. Choose to Writing Direction and select (Left to Right or Right to Left).
  4. Remember to save changes once you've chosen your text direction. 
  5. This change will take effect immediately but only for this project. It can be changed back at any time.

Renaming your Project

You can rename a project after the project has been created. This will update the name that appears in your project dashboard, the first folder in your project, as well as in any emails that are sent to new people in your project.

 

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Select Project Settings. 
  3. Click Update your project name.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Click Update your project name.

 

Using the Overview Tab in your project

You can get a high-level overview of your project's progress by visiting the overview tab. There are several pieces of information shown on this page:

 

  • Project status: This shows an overview of the project's workflow, and how many items are in each workflow status. You can click on one of the workflow statuses to take you to the content hub, where the items are.

 

 

 

 

  • Recent Activity: You can also see a stream of all the recent activity, so you can see what's currently happening in the project. The recent activity shown in this list includes high-level activities such as:
    • creating an item

    • trashing an item

    • updating an item's workflow status

Note: Content edits made by team members aren't shown in this list. They exist at the more granular level of the revision history within an item.

  • Items you're assigned to: If you're assigned to any items, they'll appear in a section underneath the 'Project status' information. Click any items under the 'Items you're assigned to' section to open the item and begin editing.

Tip: The project status progress bar only shows the progress of items that you've got access to. If you've got access to all items within a project, the progress bar will reflect that.

 

Syncing your Project with External Calendars

You can sync individual project calendars with your own external calendar so that you can keep up to date with upcoming due dates. The synchronisation works with Google Calendar, Apple iCal and Microsoft Outlook Calendar.

When syncing a calendar, you will be able to choose whether you want to sync due dates that you are responsible for or due dates for everyone in the project.

  1. Navigate to Content Workflow.
  2. Select the Calendar tab in your project.

  3. Each project has it’s own individual calendar, and each calendar will have to be synchronised individually.

  4. Click the link at the bottom of the page.
  5. Customise your sync and confirm. 
  6. If you are having trouble syncing to the right calendar, you can right-click on the link and choose to copy the link address. This means you can paste the link into your desired calendar to set it up more directly.
  7. Set up the options in your preferred calendar.
  8. We recommend to refresh the due dates every 5 minutes, this is recommended to ensure your calendars are kept consistent. 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community