You can enable the Archived option for your digital assets, which will hide them from users who do not have the permission to access these types of files. You can manage the permission on a user or a group level.
You can mark assets as archived directly on upload or when you edit a single asset or a batch.
To help you manage your asset lifecycle better, we can configure Bynder so that everyone uploading or editing multiple files will have to provide the archive date for these files.
Skip directly to
You can use the Archived option for assets that you do no longer need or use in the Asset Library. For example, the assets for a new Spring campaign should no longer be used past May 31st. On June 1st, the assets are considered Archived, and light users no longer have access to them.
If you haven't used an asset for a longer period of time, but you do not want to delete, you can archive it in Cold storage.
Make sure you set the right permissions for selected users to access archived files. Go to Settings > Users & rights > Permission Management and enable the following for selected user profiles:
View archived assets if you want selected users to see the archived material.
Download archived assets to allow users to download archived assets. Enable this right together with Access to archived materials, otherwise, users will be able to see the thumbnails of the archived assets, but won’t be able to go to the detail view of the asset.
Do one of the following:
On the asset upload page, open the Advanced Rights tab.
Click on the asset to edit and open the Edit tab.
Select Label this media as archive (upload) or Mark as archive material (editing).
Choose when you want to archive the asset:
Now - this option will immediately archive the asset. When the upload is complete the asset will be marked as Archived in the Asset Library.
On (date) - when you select a date and the exact time, the asset will be archived on this date. Until then it will be visible for users in the Asset Library. The date displays in the time-zone of the user.
Click Store selected files or Save.
Select the assets to edit and click the Edit media icon.
One the Advanced Rights tab.
Select Label this media as archive.
Choose when you want to archive the asset:
Yes, now - this option will immediately archive the asset. When the upload is complete the asset will be marked as Archived in the Asset Library.
Yes, from this date (date) - when you select a date and the exact time, the asset will be archived on this date. Until then it will be visible for users in the Asset Library. The date displays in the time-zone of the user.
No - this option will clear the existing Archived option for the assets.
You might also use a setting that allows both logged-in and external users to see archived and limited assets if they are a part of a collection even though the users might not have the rights to view archived or limited assets.
We can help you keep users notified about assets being archived. If this option is enabled for you, the users who have downloaded an asset (once or multiple times) receive an in-product notification on the day the asset is archived. This is a one-off notification. For more on notification center, see Notification center.
Additionally, you can ask your Customer Success Manager to configure the notification so that it also appears before an asset is archived. You can specify how many days prior to the archive date the notification should be shown.
The notification will also be generated when a version or a derivative of the asset is archived.
The notification is not sent to the person archiving the asset.
Notifications are not generated for open bank users.
If the users have the permission to view archived material, they can click to view the asset.
To help you manage your asset lifecycle, we can enable a setting that makes it mandatory for everyone who uploads or edits multiple assets to provide an archive date upfront. In this way, assets do not remain in your portal for longer than necessary and you do not need to remember to archive assets when you no longer need them.
With the setting on, the archive date becomes mandatory when you upload assets (also upload with External Uploader), edit several assets and export assets to the asset bank to the Waiting room.
The setting does not support uploading with Version Updater, Mass Uploader, or via API. You also cannot set the archive date when you edit a single asset.
If you upload files via API make sure that you upload them to Waiting room first so that the archive date cannot be bypassed. For the same reason export files from workload through the Waiting room.