Archive Assets

  • Updated

Marking assets as archived within Bynder allows you to control who can view and download your assets. Archiving is an Advanced Rights option that you can enable on individual assets. You can set an asset to archive indefinitely or with a specific start date, similar to an expiration. While archived, only specific users with the appropriate permissions will be able to view and/or download these assets. Assets marked as archived will display Archive on the asset thumbnail. You can enable it so that users who downloaded the asset will receive a notification in their portal Notification Center when an asset is going to be archived. To help manage your asset’s lifecycle, you can enable a setting that will require all assets uploaded or edited to have an archival date.

Permissions

We recommend granting permission to view and download Archived assets to only heavy user groups, such as DAM Admins or users in charge of content management. Learn more about permissions here.

You need to first grant the following Permissions to enable the Download archived assets permission: 

    • Download non-public asset derivatives

    • View archived assets

    • Download original assets

Who can view and download archived assets?

Users with the following permission enabled can view & download archived assets:

  • View archived assets: Users can view archived assets.

  • Download archived assets: Users can download archived assets.

 Who can Archive assets?

Users with one of the following rights can Archive assets upon upload:

  • Upload assets with mandatory approval

  • Upload assets

Users with the following rights can Archive existing assets:

  • Edit Assets

How to Mark Media as Archive

You can mark media to be archived at a certain date during upload or in the Asset Bank. You can also set asset(s) as archived automatically using custom triggers.  Learn more about custom triggers here.

  1. Either upload a new asset or navigate to an asset you would like to Mark as Archive.
  2. Select the asset and click edit Screenshot 2024-03-18 at 10.39.38 AM.png.
  3. Scroll down to Advanced Rights.
  4. Select Label this media as archive (your portal might have slightly different wording). label_this_media_as_archive_.png
    • Select Now: This option will immediately archive the asset.label_this_media_as_archive_now.png
    • Select On (date): This option will automatically archive the asset on the date and time that you set. Until then it will be visible for users in the Asset Bank. The date will display in the time-zone of the user (or the timezone of the portal if the user does not have one).
      label_this_media_as_archive_on.png
  5. Click Save or Store selected files.

Archive Notifications

You can help notify your users about assets being archived. If this option is enabled for you, users who have downloaded an asset (once or multiple times) will receive a notification on the archival date. You will also be notified when a version or a derivative of the asset is archived. The notification is only sent to those who have downloaded the asset.

Notifications will not be generated for open asset bank users.

Contact your Customer Success Manager if you want to configure the notification so that it appears before an asset reaches its archival date. You can specify how many days prior to the archival date the notification will appear.

Mandatory Archive Date on Upload and Multi-Edit

How to enable this feature in your portal?

Contact your Customer Success Manager to enable this feature in your portal. 

To help manage your asset’s lifecycle, Bynder can enable a setting requiring all assets uploaded or edited to have an archival date.

This setting will impact assets uploaded via the front-end uploader and the editing of all assets. This setting will not be enforced with Version Updater, Mass Uploader, or via API.

If you want to keep mandatory archival dates for API uploads, please ensure that you upload assets to the Waiting Room first so that the archive date cannot be bypassed.

FAQ

How do we allow all users to view archived assets in collections?

When sharing assets with users, the recipient’s permissions will be respected by default. If you share a collection that includes archived assets to a group of users that do not have permission to view archived assets they will not see the archived assets. Only those who have access to the archived assets in the Asset Bank will have access to those assets in the collection. 

The Collection shared must be created by a user with view archived assets permission and then shared with a user without these permissions to bypass that restriction. If you have issues with this please contact Customer Support.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community