Understanding Permissions In CX For User Community

Summary

Bynder uses a default set of rights to define permission types and their capabilities. If necessary you can customize these to fit your individual use case. Here is a table to understand the default permissions for CX for User Community solution.

Permission Role Supported User Type Guides & Landing Pages Capabilities Custom Links Capabilities
Manager Regular (Moderate) Manage all guides and content. Set cover images, manage access rights, edit titles, and delete guides. The role is referred to as ‘editor’ and is intended for portal administrators. Can edit and delete all custom links, including those created by others.
Creator Regular (Moderate) Create and manage own guides. View and edit guides where explicit access is granted. Create personal custom links.
Viewer Light View guides and content where explicit access is granted. Cannot create guides or content. View all custom links, including those created by other users

Note: To prevent conflicting user rights, configure only one CX User Community permission per permission profile.

Draft and Sharing Rules

Global profiles dictate default behavior, but explicit guide-level permissions modify what a user can see and do:  

  • Draft Visibility: Draft pages are only visible to users who have been granted Edit access to that specific page.  

  • Viewers and Drafts: A user with a global Viewer profile can view and edit an unpublished draft page, provided you explicitly grant them Edit rights to that specific guide via the share modal. A View right alone does not allow access to unpublished drafts.  

  • Unpublished Content Constraint: In the current setup, accessing an unpublished draft requires editing capabilities for that page. There is no view-only access for unpublished content. 

Reviewing Content Without Edit Rights

Please note: Access to this workflow may be restricted based on your pricing package, since some features and usage limits (such as the number of pages or guides) vary by plan. If you don’t see the option described below, reach out to your CSM to discuss your options.

If you need users to review content without giving them editing capabilities, use the following workflow:

  1. Navigate to the guide and complete your updates.

  2. Publish the page using Restricted sharing settings.

  3. Explicitly assign View permissions to the specific owners, managers, or users who need to review it.

  4. Once the review is complete and the page is ready for a wider audience, update the visibility settings to a wider audience (e.g., more users, profiles, or groups).

If you need to continue making updates after publication without altering the live version, create a copy of the guide and perform your iterations on the new copy.

(Legacy) Styleguide

Permission Heavy User Regular User Light User Description
Edit style guide Yes Yes No Allows users to make changes to guidelines.
View styleguide Yes Yes Yes Gives read-only access to guidelines.

FAQs

Who can update the permission profiles?

Only your Bynder admin has access to permission profiles to ensure necessary security.

Can a user with a Viewer profile edit an unpublished draft?

A global Viewer profile cannot see unpublished drafts by default. However, if an administrator or guide owner explicitly grants that user Edit access to a specific guide through the share modal, the user can view and edit that specific draft.

Related Articles

Understanding Permissions In Studio

Understanding Permissions In Your Asset Bank

Understanding Permissions in Content Workflow

(Legacy)Styleguide

Level: Proficient

Proficient-level articles are for users who have some prior Bynder knowledge. These articles require you to know the basics and may also require higher-level portal rights to accomplish the task outlined within the article. 

Updated