Workfront Integration

  • Updated

Adobe Workfront is a work management platform for enterprises looking to strategically prioritize, assign, and complete projects quickly at any scale. With its central dashboard, you can quickly launch projects by seeing available resources and using templates and automation to assign tasks.

The Workfront integration allows you to sync and map metaproperties from your Workfront documents into your Bynder Asset Bank via a Workfront status update. This enables teams to work more efficiently without having to work in two separate systems and ensures content is always current.

How to enable Adobe Workfront Integration?

Contact your Customer Success Manager to learn more about enabling the Adobe Workfront Integration.

Before setting up the integration

Please ensure the following is enabled in both your Workfront and Bynder accounts.

  • Set up Bynder metaproperties you would like to map to the Workfront metadata.

    Note

    Note: If you do not know the metaproperites you would like to set up beforehand, you can always start setting up the integration and go back to set up the metaproperty mapping. The setup will save regardless of if you’ve set up metaproperty mapping. Learn more about metaproperties here.

  • Add the Task Status in your Workfront account that you would like to use as the trigger for this integration.

    • You must set up the status in Task, not Project.

    • You can add multiple statuses to trigger the Workfront/Bynder workflow.

    • If you delete the connected task status, the integration will be disconnected.

    • Click here to learn more about how to add task statuses in Workfront.

  • The Workfront Task documents are the assets synced into Bynder, NOT the Project documents. To ensure successful integration, please let your teams know to upload the assets you want in Bynder into the Workfront Task document section.

  • The integration will sync all documents that appear in your Workfront task folder.

How to Set up Workfront Integration

  1. Navigate to brand_guidelines_image_settings.png Settings > Advanced settings > Portal settings.

  2. Click the Premium tab, where you will see Workfront.

    workfront_screenshot_setp_1.png
  3. Click Configure.

    Note

    You can only configure one Workfront Account.

  4. Enter a Name for this configuration, then click Save.

    workfront_name.png
  5. Select Mark as Public if you want to mark all Workfront assets as public automatically. 
    • If you previously set up this integration and would like to configure this setting, you will need to edit the integration. Previously synced assets will not be retroactively marked as public. Screenshot 2024-02-27 at 3.57.01 PM.png
  6. Click New Authentication and add the following information:

    1. Authentication name

    2. Workfront Username

    3. Workfront Password

    4. Workfront Subdomain

  7. Click Create.

  8. Configure the setting under Workfront settings.

    1. Workfront Task Status: Assign the Workfront status you previously created that you would like to act as a trigger to send documents into your Bynder Portal. For example, if you previously created a Workfront Task Status called “Ready for Bynder,” select that status in the dropdown.

      workfront_add_new_status_kb_article.png
      workfront_task_status_kb.png
    2. Paging Limit: Leave the limit to the default number 100.

      Note

      The paging limit can be changed if there is a property limit error is thrown by Workfront. Use a smaller number to resolve the error.

  9. Click Next.

  10. Workfront to Bynder mappings - no action is required here. This information cannot be changed; changing it will cause a disconnect to your synced assets.

    1. WORKFRONT Document id

    2. WORKFRONT Version id

    3. WORKFRONT Document URL

    4. WORKFRONT Task URL

  11. Click Next.

  12. Workfront to Bynder mappings: You can select the metadata mapped from your Workfront assets to your Bynder Metaproperties via the dropdown.

    Note

    Establish the metaproperties in your Bynder DAM before setting up this integration. If you need to go back to add metaproperties in your DAM, you can X out of this integration setup, and your information will be saved.

  13. Click Next >Finish.

How to use the Integration

After configuration, you can update your Workfront task status to start syncing the related task documents into your Bynder DAM. Moving forward, any time your task status changes to the selected Workfront synced status or a new document is uploaded into a previously synced task, it will appear in your Bynder DAM after roughly 5 minutes.

Edit the Integration

You can edit the configuration to disable the integration or update your settings and workflows.

  1. Navigate to brand_guidelines_image_settings.png Settings > Advanced settings > Portal settings.

  2. Click Active Integrations in the left sidebar, then Edit in the connection section you would like to update.

  3. Make your changes, then click Save.

Delete or Disable Integration.

If you want to disable or delete the integration, follow the above steps: click on three_dots.png and disable or delete.

RENAME_DISABLE.png

FAQs

What types of files are supported?

  • All file types are supported.

What happens if I delete the asset from Workfront (or vice versa)?

  • If you delete an asset in Workfront, it will remain in your Bynder Asset Bank. If you delete an asset in Bynder, it will remain in Workfront. 

What happens if you upload a new version of the file in Workfront?

  • If you upload a new version in your task documents in Workfront, it will automatically update as a new version in your Bynder DAM. There is no need to change the status in Workfront if you upload a new version. You will see the previous versions in the Versions Tab. Learn more about versions in Bynder here

What will happen if I delete the synced task status in Workfront?

  • Deleting the synced task status in Workfront will disconnect the integration. To fix this, you must re-add the task status in Workfront and edit the integration in Bynder to select that new status.

How long will it take for assets to appear in my Asset bank?

  • Your asset will sync after approximately 5 minutes.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community