Share Files Via Bynder Express

  • Updated

You can send and manage large file transfers directly in your Bynder Portal via Bynder Express. This feature allows you to share large files up to 40GB that live outside of your Portal through a built-in FTP tool versus using a third-party app such as WeTransfer or Hightail. 

The files you share in Bynder Express will not be uploaded or shown in the Asset Bank and will not require a login to download. The transferred files count toward your contracted DAM storage; however, once the link expires, it will no longer count toward your storage space. Portal administrators can find an overview of the users who use Bynder Express and the files they share in the Transfer History section of the Portal.

You can share files that live in your Asset bank (internally with Bynder users or externally with third parties), see share assets, create, share, and manage Collections.

How to enable this feature in your portal?

Contact your Customer Success Manager to enable this feature in your portal and any associated costs.

 

Who can use Bynder Express

Users with the following permissions can use Bynder Express:

  • Access to Bynder Express: you can see and use Bynder Express to share files.

  • View personal transfer history: the files they shared via Bynder Express. Users can find their transfer history in the top navigation bar by clicking Your UserName & Transfer history.

  • View transfer history from others: you can view the complete transfer history for all users in the Portal. This permission is only available for heavy (admin) users, not regular or light users.

How to Share Files Via Bynder Express

  1. Navigate to your Bynder Portal. 

  2. Click Share your files or drag and drop files into this Bynder Express box.

  3. Select the files you want to upload. You can add files later (before sending) by clicking Add more.

  4. Decide if you want to share the files via email or generate a link that you can send via email, chat, text, or other forms of communication.

    • To share files via email:

      1. Enter the recipient's email address.

      2. Decide when the share should expire. After the date has passed, the recipients can no longer download the files. Bynder recommends that you always set an expiration date as a best practice.

      3. Write a message for the recipient in the text box.

      4. Click Send. The recipients will receive an email with a download link.

      1. Click the toggle to Link.

      2. Specify the expiration date for the files. After the date has passed, the recipients can no longer download the files. Bynder recommends that you always set an expiration date as a best practice.

      3. Click Send. If the internet connection is interrupted during upload, Bynder will automatically continue the upload when the connection is back.

      4. Copy the generated Link using the control + c or ⌘ + c keyboard shortcut.

        To share files via a link:

      Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 14.48.03.png

View and Work With Transfer History

Navigate to YourUserName > Transfer history to view the Bynder Express transfer history. Here, you can view or sort the data. You can also:

  • Monitor the status of the transfer. Red dots mean the transfer has expired, orange represents the transfer expiring in 24 hours, and green indicates the files are still available for download.

  • Select  linkIcon.png to view and copy the generated Link for any available transfers. Once the transfer expires, the Link will be broken and unavailable to copy.

  • SelectdownloadIcon.png to download the files for an available transfer. This option is available if the files have not expired.

  • SelectrevokeIcon.png to revoke access to your transfer. The shared URL will stop working, and recipients can no longer download the shared file(s). The shared files will be removed from our server.

    Note

    You can only revoke your transfers and not the Bynder Express transfers of other users, even if you are an admin with permission to view transfer history from others.

  • Hover over the Recipients column to view the complete list of recipients

  • Hover over the Expires In data to see the exact date and time of the expiration date.

  • If you have the View transfer history from others permission, you can see inactive, active, expired, non-expired, and canceled transfers for all users in the Portal. Admins can use this permission to maintain security when an employee leaves the

    company, for auditing, to ensure that Bynder Express is not being abused, and to track old transfers.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community