How to Use Bynder's AI Automation Workflows

Summary

Automation Workflows allow users to define rules that automate routine tasks in Bynder. A rule consists of a trigger, optional conditions, and one or more actions that run automatically when the criteria are met. This feature assists teams who manage asset lifecycles more efficiently by reducing manual steps and enabling AI-driven automation.

Who?

Automation Workflows are available to customers who purchase the AI Agentic Platform. Once purchased, your Customer Success contact must enable the feature for your portal.

After enablement, a Bynder Admin can assign individual permissions:

  • Access Workspace and Configure Automation: Required to view, create, edit, pause, and manage automation rules.

  • View Users: Required to configure rules using the Added by (User) condition group.

Why?

Automation workflows assist by automating routine tasks inside Bynder and across connected systems. Users have complete control over their automations, and can pause and resume the workflows at any time. Criteria and steps in an automation can be configured as a trigger and multi-type conditions, offering control and customizability. A variety of agents can be invoked to execute specific tasks, with the oversight of an approver. 

How?

Accessing Rules 

To access the Rules overview, go to User menu > Workspace > Automation > Rules. Alternatively, you can access Rules via a custom Menu Link. Because these links are customized per portal, you will need to contact your Customer Success Manager to have one configured.

The Rules overview displays all automation rules created in the users portal. Rules are visible to all users with the Manage automation workflow permission, making it easy to review what automations exist and are active. From the overview, users can see a list of all rules available in the portal, check the status of each rule, create new rules to automate tasks, and edit existing rules.

Creating and Publishing a New Rule

  1. Navigate to User name > Workspace > Automation > Rules. 
  2. Select Create rule. This opens the visual flow editor where users define:
    • A trigger - the event that initiates an automation workflow. With the trigger block selected, choose a trigger from the info panel.
    • Optional conditions - refines when a rule should run by checking asset attributes. With the condition block selected, choose a condition from the info panel. Up to 5 conditions can be added to a rule. Configuration options may differ depending on the action selected.
    • An action - defines what happens when the trigger (and any conditions) are met. With the action block selected, choose an action from the info panel. Users can add up to 5 actions per rule, and can be configured to execute either sequentially or in parallel.
  3. Select publish. The rule is now active and will run when the conditions are met.
    • To exit the rule editor without saving click Discard. Any unsaved changes will be lost.

Editing a Rule

  1. Click on the rule to be edited in the Rules overview.
  2. Make the desired updates in the editor.
    • To rename a rule, open the rule's contextual menu in the top bar, and select Rename. Alternatively, users can do this by clicking the name of the rule in the header of the rule editor, and renaming the rule from there.
  3. Select Publish changes to apply the edits.

Pausing or Resuming a Rule

1. Navigate to the Rules overview.

2. Open the rule’s contextual menu (3 horizontal dots next to the “Publish rule” button), and select Pause or Resume, alternatively, open the rule in the editor, then open the contextual menu in the top bar, and select Pause or Resume based on your needs. 

3. Confirm the action to pause or resume the rule. 

Note: Paused rules will show a paused status in the rules overview and rule editor.

Deleting a Rule

  1. Navigate to the Rules overview, open the rule’s contextual menu and select Delete, or open the rule in the editor, open the contextual menu in the top bar, and select Delete.
  2. Confirm the action to remove the rule.

Note: Deleting a rule is permanent and cannot be undone.

Related Articles

Level: Proficient

Proficient-level articles are for users who have some prior Bynder knowledge. These articles require you to know the basics and may also require higher-level portal rights to accomplish the task outlined within the article. 

Updated