Get started with videos in Studio

  • Updated

Using Studio, users can create a video from a template to create campaign or training videos. Designers can create a design and save it as a template. From there, content teams can use the template to adapt in multiple sizes and versions and scale for different use cases.

Create a design

There are different options to create a design in Studio:

From Scratch

  1. Navigate to Studio.

  2. Click + New design in the top right corner, and choose Blank.

  3. Select Video and select the format.

    1. The default format for videos is Landscape (16:9), which can be updated by selecting an additional option in the dropdown.

    Note

    If the size you need is not in the dropdown, you can adjust it in the General Tab in the Design Editor. In addition, you can also change the duration of your design in this section.

  4. Click Create Design.

From a Template

  1. Navigate to Studio.

  2. Click + New design in the top right corner and choose Template.

  3. Navigate or filter by owner or type to select your template.

  4. Select the template and click Create design.

Through Import

This option is useful when you have a design you’d like to reuse instead of re-creating it from scratch. You can import Adobe Premier Pro XML Files.

  1. Navigate to Studio.

  2. Click + New design in the top right corner and select Import design.

  3. Click Select Design file.

  4. Navigate or search to find the file you want to import and click Add asset.

  5. Once the imported file is analyzed, click Create Design.

Edit a Design

Once you’ve created the design from scratch, from a template, or through import, you can edit it.

  1. If you’ve just created the design, you’ll be able to edit it immediately. Otherwise, navigate to Studio and then browse, search, or filter to find the design you’d like to edit, select it, then click Edit design.

  2. Click Global on the right-hand side of the screen to update the global design settings.

    • Background color: Enter the background color for your design. The lock icon crop_lock_icon.pngindicates that users won’t be able to change the background color. Click thecrop_lock_icon.png to allow users to change the background color.

      Tip

      If you have set Brand Colors to your account, you can apply those here by following these steps.

    • Format: By default, the format is custom, and you can adjust the width and height for the design. Click the dropdown to select standard Social Media formats or create your custom size by changing the width and height in the number fields.

    • Poster frame: You can select which frame appears as the thumbnail of your design.

    • Audio: You can select a Global Audio track for the design.

    • Duration:  You can change the duration of your design.

    • Request Approval: Click the toggle to enable approvals for this design, then add reviewers. Learn more about approvals here.
    • Export: Click the dropdown to select the export options once users make their edits.

      • Download & Waiting Room: Files can be downloaded directly once the export is completed or sent to the Waiting Room for review.

      • Download only: Files can be downloaded directly once the export is completed.

      • Waiting Room only: Users can only send files to the Waiting Room for review - downloading files from the activity log is disabled.

  3. Click + add Assets to begin to add elements to your timeline. Select video, image, text, shape, or presets.

    • Video: Navigate or search for the asset you want to add to the design, then click Add Video.

      • You can select the start point and duration of your video element.

    • Image: Navigate or search to find the asset you’d like to add to the design, then click Add image.

    • Text Box: Add headers, subheaders, body, or CTA text to your visual. Learn more about working with text here

    • Shapes: Select rectangle or ellipse and further adjust its color, opacity, etc.

    • Presets: Presets are previously saved videos, images, text, shapes, or groups of elements that can be reused in future designs.

    Note

    You must have previously created a preset.

    Important

    A Bounding Box restricts the visibility of every element in Studio to ensure content creators work within the boundaries set by the designers.

  4. Rename: Double-click the element name to rename it. Content Creators will see the name of the element when they update the design.

  5. Group: You can group related elements by selecting them and clicking the Group layers icon.

    Tip

    Tip: We recommend you name each element to keep layers neat and to group related elements.

  6. Duplicate: Duplicate a layer by clicking the Duplicate layer icon.

  7. Lock: Prevent edits to a layer by clicking the crop_lock_icon.pngnext layer name. Locking a layer means that the Content Creators cannot edit that layer, such as to update the video or copy. Keep the layer unlocked if you want the Content Creators to update that layer.

  8. Hide: Temporarily hide a layer by clicking the203023804-Watch_lightbox__eye_.png icon next to the layer name.

  9. Click then select Save changes to save your progress while editing.

  10. Once the design is complete, click Publish and then confirm.

    • This will apply the changes to the existing and new variations.
  11. Click and select Save as template to save the design as a template.

Important

To make your designs accessible to others, you must share the design with permission profiles, user groups, or individual users. Learn more about Sharing Templates, Designs, and Projects in Studio.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community