Unsplash Integration

  • Updated

Unsplash is a directory of free, high-resolution photographs from the world’s most generous community of photographers. The Unsplash integration automatically uploads assets from your Unsplash account (or multiple accounts) to your Bynder DAM for a centralized asset management experience.

How to enable the Unsplash integration

Contact your Customer Success Manager to learn more about enabling the Unsplash integration.

How to set up the integration

  1. Navigate to settings_menu.png Settings > Advanced settings > Portal settings.

  2. Click Browse Integrations in the left sidebar, then Configure in the Unsplash section.

  3. Enter a Name for this configuration and click Save.

  4. If you've already configured a Bynder connection, it will be selected. If not, select New authentication to add your Bynder credentials:

    • Your authentication name: Enter a name for the authentication. 

    • Domain: Enter your unique domain by copying the URL of your Bynder portal (including https://).
    • Permanent Token: Setup will require a Bynder permanent token with read/write assets and read/write metaproperties. Learn more about Permanent Tokens here.

  5. Click Create.

  6. [optional] Delete Bynder Asset: If you would like images that you delete from the Unsplash collection to also be deleted from your Bynder DAM, check the box to Delete Bynder Asset.
  7. Click Next
  8. Select New authentication to add your Unsplash credentials, then click Create

    Note

    If you want to connect more than one Unsplash account, you will need to configure a new Unsplash workflow for each account you want to set up.

  9. Click Finish.

How to use the integration

Once the integration has been configured, an Unsplash collection will be created in your account called Bynder Sync Collection. Any image added to this collection will be uploaded to Bynder after ~2 hours.

The Bynder Sync Collection can be renamed, shared, or made public. If you delete the collection, a new one will be created on the next update.

  • If you delete an asset from the collection, it can be deleted from the Bynder DAM based on your configuration. However, deleting the collection itself will NOT delete images in Bynder.

  • Deleting assets from Bynder will not delete them from the Bynder Sync collection.

Learn more about Unsplash collections here.

Edit the Unsplash integration

If you would like to disable or update your Unsplash settings, such as to edit your Unsplash credentials, you can edit the configuration.

  1. Navigate to settings_menu.png Settings > Advanced settings > Portal settings.

  2. Click Active Integrations in the left sidebar, then Edit in the section of the connection that you would like to update.

  3. Make your changes, then click Save.

Metaproperty Information

The following metaproperties will be automatically updated with the following details:

  • Description: Photo credit information

  • Tags: Unsplash, author/photographer name, and Unsplash ID

Please make sure these metaproperties are enabled in your DAM for the metadata to be synced.

FAQ

What types of files are supported?

  • Unsplash currently only offers images.

What happens to the asset if I delete it from my Bynder portal (or visa versa)

  • If you delete an asset from your Bynder portal, the asset will remain in your Unsplash collection.

  • If you delete an asset from your Bynder Sync Unsplash collection, you can configure whether it is deleted from your Bynder DAM.

Once I connect my Unsplash account to Bynder, how long will it take to see my assets in Bynder?

  • The updates will run on a ~2-hour interval - so every ~2 hours, your Unsplash assets will be pushed to your Bynder portal.

Is a specific Unsplash account type required for the integration?

  • No, any account type will work for the integration.

What if we have multiple Unsplash accounts?

  • Each Unsplash account will need to be configured and connected. There is not currently a limit to how many accounts you can configure.

Are Unsplash assets uploaded directly to my DAM or the waiting room?

  • Assets are uploaded directly to your Asset Bank, bypassing the waiting room.

Learn More

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community