Manage Access to Guides

  • Updated

By default, guide access is restricted, which means it's only visible to the guide owner and users with the Manager's permission. This allows Brand Guidelines creators to create and manage a guide's content before making it available to other users.

Guide Access Types

You can control who the guide is visible to by setting it to restricted and only making it available to specific users, user groups, and permission profiles. You can also share a guide with all Brand Guidelines users or make it publicly available so that even external users can access it.

Restricted

Restricted guides can, by default, only be viewed and edited by the creator of that guide and other users with the Manager's permission. You can recognize these guides on the guide overview page by the guide_lock.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the icon in the top bar, you know it’s only visible to the guide owner.

A restricted guide can be shared with individual users, user groups, or permission profiles in addition to the guide owner. On the guide overview page, you can recognize these guides by the icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to and/or editable by the specified permission profiles, user groups, or users.

All users

Guides with this access type can be viewed by all users who have access to view Brand Guidelines. Users can edit or view the guide based on the Brand Guidelines permissions enabled for their permission profile.

You can recognize these guides on the guide overview page by the guide_visible.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_visible.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to all users who can view Brand Guidelines.

Note

The Viewer and Creator permissions in the Guide Access screen override the general profile permissions that users have set in Permission Management for that specific guide.

For example, suppose you assign the Creator permission over a specific guide to a user with Viewer Brand Guidelines permission. In that case, they can now view and edit that specific guide.

Public

Guides with this access type can be viewed by anyone who has been given the link to the guide without the need to log in to the portal. This also includes external users who do not have an account in the portal. On the guide overview page, you can recognize these guides by the icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the icon in the top bar, you know it is a public guide. Read more about Public guides here.

Note

The View and Edit permissions in the Guide Access screen override the general permissions that users have in Permission Management for that specific guide. For example, if you assign the Editor permission to users who normally can't view guides, they'll now be able to view and edit that specific guide.

How to Make a Guide Visible to Users

How to Hide a Guide for Users

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to hide, click the guidelines_menu.png icon, and click Share.

  3. Open the dropdown at the top of the access screen and select the Restricted option.

  4. (If applicable) Open the dropdown next to a user, user group, and permission profile and click Remove to remove their access rights to the guide group.

  5. Click Save Changes to save the changes.

The owner and users can now only access the guide with the Manager's permission. The removed user, user groups, and permission profiles can no longer access the guide.

How to Make a Guide Publicly Available

Public guides can be viewed by all users, including external users who do not have an account with the portal. 

  1. Navigate to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the Brand Guidelines you want to make public, click the guidelines_menu.png icon, and click Share> Public.

  3. (Optional) Click the Copy link button to copy the URL. The URL will be copied to your clipboard, and you can share it with external users.

  4. Click Save Changes to save the changes.

  5. The guide is now publicly available and can also be shared with users who are not logged in or have no account.

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community