Guides

  • Updated

Guides are the main component of the Brand Guidelines module. They can accommodate a wide range of use cases including the company’s brand visual identity, marketing campaigns, product information pages, sales collateral, partner or third-party toolkits, or how-to tutorials. A typical use case for a guide includes a set of rules or recommendations as to how your brand should be presented and communicated across various touchpoints. With guides, your stakeholders have consistent instruction and direction, ensuring on-brand assets are used every time.

Create a guide

  1. Navigate to Brand Guidelines and click New guide.
  2. Enter a title for your guide and click Create.
  3. Once created, you’ll be able to update the Guide settings and start to build out Chapters and content in the Pages.

Guide Settings

The guide settings allow you to edit guide information, share it, and update the theme sets or cover for the guide. You can review guide settings while on the guide overview page or while editing a guide.

Guide overview:

  • Navigate to Brand Guidelines and hover over the guide you’d like to modify.
  • Click the uuid-38835c5d-5790-4df2-7288-3a8d2b5aa188.png icon.
  • Edit Title: Edit the title of the guide, then click Save when done.
  • Copy link: Copy the link to add to an email or message.
  • Share: Control who has access to your guide by sharing.
  • Add/Remove from Featured: Featured guides display first on your Brand Guidelines overview page.
    • Click to either add or remove the guide from the featured section.
  • Change Theme Sets: Theme sets allow you to set up your brand colors and typography, as well as the look and feel of the side and top navigation bars in Brand Guidelines.
    • Select a theme set from the dropdown or click Theme sets to create or review them.
  • Move to group: You can group similar or relevant guides together.
    • Choose a group from the dropdown that you’d like to move the guide to. 
  • Duplicate: You can save yourself time and avoid building out your guides from scratch by duplicating existing guides with all their content.
    • Enter a name for the new guide and click Duplicate guide.
  • Set guide cover: Update the cover for your guide to create a distinguishable look and feel for each guide, making sure your users can easily find the content they need.
    • Select an image from the Asset Bank that you’d like to add, then click Add asset.

Note

If you’d like to upload an image that isn’t in Bynder, you can do so while in guide edit mode. Learn more here

  • Remove guide cover: Removes the cover and restores it to the default.
  • Delete guide: Only the creator of the guide and managers can delete a guide. Learn more about deleting guides.

Edit Mode:

  • Navigate to the Brand Guidelines overview and then click the guide.
  • Click Edit guide, then Gear.png.
    • Make sure that you’re in the Guide tab.
  • Title: Click Screenshotto update the title. Click Screenshot to save it.
  • Theme sets: Theme sets allow you to set up your brand colors and typography, as well as the look and feel of the side and top navigation bars in Brand Guidelines.
    • Select a theme set from the dropdown or click Screenshot to create or review them. 
  • Set guide cover: Update the cover for your guide to create a distinguishable look and feel for each guide, making sure your users can easily find the content they need.
    • Click Select to choose an image from the Asset Bank or Upload to add one from your computer.
  • Featured guide: Featured guides display first on your Brand Guidelines overview page.
    • Click the toggle to either add or remove the guide from the featured section.
  • Share: Control who has access to your guide by sharing.

Guide Access

By default, guides can only be seen by the creator of the guide and to users with the Manager permission. This allows guide editors to first create and manage the content of a guide before making it available to other users. Learn more about making the guide available to other users here.

Delete a guide

Once you delete a guide, all of its content will also be deleted. If you’d like to preserve the guide information, you can always hide it from users. Learn more about guide visibility here.

  1. Navigate to the Brand Guidelines overview page.
  2. Hover over the guide you want to delete and click uuid-38835c5d-5790-4df2-7288-3a8d2b5aa188.png.
  3. Select Delete guide.
  4. Read the warning message carefully and click Delete to permanently remove the group.

     

    Note

    This action is permanent and can't be undone.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community