Create a Guide in Brand Guidelines

  • Updated

Guides are a crucial part of the Brand Guidelines module. They can be used for various purposes, such as defining the visual identity of the company's brand, creating marketing campaigns, providing product information, developing sales collateral, offering partner or third-party toolkits, or creating how-to tutorials. A guide typically consists of rules and recommendations on presenting and communicating the brand consistently across different touchpoints. Using guides, stakeholders receive clear instructions and guidance, ensuring that on-brand assets are consistently used.

Create a Guide

  1. Navigate to Brand Guidelines and click New Guide.
  2. Enter a title for your guide and click Create.
  3. Once created, you can update the Guide settings and start building out Chapters and content in the Pages.

Guide Settings

The guide settings allow you to edit guide information, share it, and update the theme sets or cover for the guide. You can review guide settings while on the guide overview page or editing a guide.

Guide overview:

  1. Navigate to Brand Guidelines and hover over the guide you want to modify.
  2. Click the uuid-38835c5d-5790-4df2-7288-3a8d2b5aa188.png icon.
    • Edit Title: Edit the guide's title, then click Save when done.
    • Copy link: Copy the link to add to an email or message.
    • Share: Control who has access to your guide by sharing.
    • Add/Remove from Featured: Featured guides display first on your Brand Guidelines overview page.
    • Click to either add or remove the guide from the featured section.
    • Change Theme Sets: Theme sets allow you to set up your brand colors, typography, and the look and feel of the side and top navigation bars in Brand Guidelines.
    • Select a theme set from the dropdown or click ThemeSetss to create or review them.
    • Move to group: You can group similar or relevant guider.
    • Choose a group from the dropdown to which you’d like to move the guide. 
    • Duplicate: Duplicating existing guides with all their content can save time and avoid building your guides from scratch.
    • Enter a name for the new guide and click Duplicate guide.
    • Set guide cover: Update the cover for your guide to create a distinguishable look and feel for each guide, ensuring your users can easily find the content they need.
    • Select an image from the Asset Bank you want to add, then click Add asset.

Note

If you’d like to upload an image that isn’t in Bynder, you can do so while in guide edit mode. Learn more here

  • Remove guide cover: Remove the cover and restore it to the default.
  • Delete guide: Only the guide's creators and managers can delete a guide. You can learn more about deleting guides.

Edit Mode

  1. Navigate to the Brand Guidelines overview and then click the guide.
  2. Click Edit guide, then Gear.png.
    • Make sure that you’re in the Guide tab.
    • Title: Click Screenshotto update the title. Click Screenshot to save it.
    • Theme sets: Theme sets allow you to set up your brand colors and typography, as well as the look and feel of the side and top navigation bars in Brand Guidelines.
    • Select a theme set from the dropdown or click Screenshot to create or review them. 
    • Set guide cover: Update the cover for your guide to create a distinguishable look and feel for each guide, ensuring your users can easily find the content they need.
    • Click Select to choose an image from the Asset Bank or Upload to add one from your computer.
    • Featured Guide: Featured guides are displayed first on your Brand Guidelines overview page.
    • Click the toggle to add or remove the guide from the featured section.
    • Share: Control who has access to your guide by sharing.

Guide Access

By default, guides can only be seen by the guide's creators and to users with the manager's permission. This allows guide editors to create and manage a guide's content before making it available to other users. Learn more about making the guide available to other users here.

Delete a Guide

Once you delete a guide, its content will also be deleted. You can always hide the guide information from users if you’d like to preserve it. Learn more about guide visibility here.

  1. Navigate to the Brand Guidelines overview page.
  2. Hover over the guide you want to delete and click uuid-38835c5d-5790-4df2-7288-3a8d2b5aa188.png.
  3. Select Delete guide.
  4. Read the warning message carefully and click Delete to remove the group permanently.

     

    Note

    This action is permanent and can't be undone.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community