Bynder Support

Our support team is here for you.

Submit a request Return to overview page
Bynder Support

Permissions and Asset Access

Follow Print
 
 
With Bynder’s comprehensive permission settings, it is possible to hide certain assets from a particular user group, but show those assets to other user groups. 
 
Use Case Example: Company A has four departments: Sales, Marketing, Operations, and IT.  Each department has its own permission profile; for example, all members of the Marketing department are part of the permission profile “Marketing Users." In Company A's Bynder Portal, there is a required multi-select metaproperty called “Department,” therefore, all assets are tagged with the departments that the asset is relevant for. Each department should only see assets that are tagged with their department. Account Administrators should be able to see all assets in the Portal.
 
How do you set this up?
 
Go to Settings > Users & rights > Permission management. Create a permission profile for each department, and add all relevant members of that department to the permission profile. Example: Sales Users, Marketing Users, Operations Users, IT Users, and Account Administrators. 
 
 
Go to Settings > Metaproperty Management. Click on the gear icon next to the metaproperty that you would like to set the access on. Example: The “Department” metaproperty.
 
 
In the Metaproperty Options page, check the “Hide by Default” box next to each metaproperty option. 
 
 
[Hide by Default: Checking the “Hide by Default" box hides all assets that are tagged with this metaproperty option for ALL USERS. You need to specifically “show” this asset to specific user groups that you would like to see the asset using the “access” key icon. 
 
Note: If an asset tagged with a "Hide by Default" option is shared externally, the external person will not be able to view the asset because they were not part of a user group that was specifically given view rights. If you want to override “hide by default” on sharing, talk to your Implementation Team and they will help you override this setting.]
 
 
For each “Hide by Default” metaproperty option, click on the key icon to set the access for each metaproperty option. You can set this by Permission Profile, User Group, or individual user. Example: The access for the Sales Metaproperty should be given to two permission profiles: Sales Users and Account Administrators. 
 
 
 
Specific access options for each metaproperty option
 
*Please note that these access settings work in conjunction with the permissions granted in the User Permission Profiles.
 
In order to be able to take an action on an asset, that permission MUST be included in your Permission Profile. 
  • Example: If you set the ability to “upload and publish media in this option” on a metaproperty option for a Light User Permission Profile that does NOT have the ability to “upload and publish media” on the Permission Profile level, those Light Users will still not have the ability to upload media.
 
On the other hand, if a metaproperty option is “Hide by Default,” and a user has all rights on the Permission Profile level, access on the metaproperty level access takes precedence and users must be granted rights to take an action BOTH in the Permission Profile and in the metaproperty level access.
  • Example: If an Account Administrator has the ability to “Delete media” in their Permission Profile, but a certain metaproperty is “hide by default,” that permission profile must also be granted “Remove media from this option” access on the metaproperty level access.
 
There are a number of specific access options for each metaproperty option:
 
 
Metaproperty Level Access options that work in conjunction with “Hide by Default"
 
Show media from this option: Checking this option overrides “Hide by Default” for that specific user group and allows that user group to view those assets in the Portal. For example, Sales Users will now be able to see assets tagged as “Sales.”
 
Add and publish media in this option: When a metaproperty is “Hide by Default,” you must allow user groups that you want to upload media tagged with this metaproperty to “add and publish media in this option.” If you do not check this box, your users with upload permissions will not see this metaproperty option on upload.
 
Edit media in this option: When a metaproperty is “Hide by Default,” you must allow user groups that you want to edit metaproperty options in this metaproperty to “edit media in this option.” 
 
Audit media for this option: When a metaproperty is “Hide by Default,” you must allow user groups that you want to audit media in the Waiting Room that is tagged with this metaproperty to “audit media for this option.” Even if a user in a permission profile has the rights to audit media in the Waiting Room, that user will not be able to audit assets that have been tagged with a “Hide by Default” metaproperty UNLESS that user profile is specifically given access through “Audit media for this option."
 
Remove media from this option: When a metaproperty is “Hide by Default,” you must allow user groups that you want to be able delete media that is tagged with this metaproperty to “remove media from this option.” Even if a user in a permission profile has the rights to delete media, that user will not be able to delete assets that have been tagged with a “Hide by Default” metaproperty UNLESS that user profile is specifically given access through “Remove media from this option."
 
 
Metaproperty Level Access options that work on options without “Hide by Default"
 
Disable option in upload & edit: If a metaproperty is not "hide by default," but you want to restrict a certain permission profile from uploading assets and tagging them with this specific metaproperty option, check “Disable option in upload & edit.” Now that user profile will not see that metaproperty option at all when they are uploading and tagging an asset. 
 
Hide media from this option: Hide media will hide assets in the Portal tagged with that metaproperty option from a particular user group. This option is useful for metaproperties that are NOT “Hide by Default.” This means that the metaproperty is viewable in the Portal for all user groups except the user group that you’ve specifically chosen to hide those assets from.
 
 
Metaproperty Level Access
 
By default in Bynder, when you set a “show media from this option” access permission on a specific metaproperty option, users will only see assets that are tagged only with metaproperty options that their permission profile specifically has access to. For example, if an asset is tagged only with “Sales,” then Sales Users will be able to see this asset in the Portal. If an asset is tagged with both “Sales” and “Marketing,” and a Sales user only has access to “Sales,” the Sales user will not be able to see that asset. 
 
To override this and allow a user to view an asset as long as it is tagged with at least one metaproperty option, talk to your Implementation Team and they will be able to override this setting for you. Example: Now the Sales user would be able to see that asset that was tagged with both “Sales” and “Marketing,” but in the metadata panel, they would only see that it was tagged with the metaproperty “Sales."

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments