To safely distribute sensitive assets, you simply opt for a required login when sharing collections. Follow the steps as described in How do I share a collection.
Simply tick the "Required to login" checkbox to enable this and then confirm by hitting "Share collection".
On the receiving end, this will require a one-time registration for the particular collection. Once registered, users can access the media after logging in.