Bynder Support

Our support team is here for you.

Submit a request Return to overview page
Bynder Support

Is it possible to archive assets during upload or at a later stage?

Follow Print

In situations where you need to have certain files hidden from certain users, you can use our Archived feature. Find out below how you can use this feature.

What is the “Archived” feature?

Archived is an option that you can enable for your digital assets, which will hide them from users who do not have permission to access these types of files. If you wish to make a file hidden after a certain period of time, you can set up an expiration date for it. When this date expires, the asset will automatically be set to Archived, which makes the asset hidden for everyone who that doesn’t have the right to see archived assets. Normally, this will be the case for light user profiles. Additionally, you can also modify the settings in the permission management to decide whether certain user groups should be able to see the archived assets.

How can I enable “Archived” for an asset?

You can label an asset as Archived in three ways:

  1. During the upload process for new assets.
  2. While batch editing existing assets.
  3. While editing an existing asset in the asset detail view.

During the upload process

  1. Upload the new asset(s) to the asset bank.
  2. On the left hand side, click on Advanced rights.
  3. Tick the box Label this media as archive. 

  

Now, you can choose between two options to archive an asset:

  1. Now: This will archive the asset immediately. After the upload/edit, the asset will appear as archived in the asset bank.
  2. On: Here you can set an expiration date for the asset. Until this date is met, the asset will be normally visible in the asset bank. After this date, the asset will automatically be archived by the system. You can also set the exact time for the archiving. The date displays in the time zone of the user. If the user does not have the time zone set up for his/her account, the portal time zone is taken into account.

 

While batch editing existing asset 

This process is similar to when you upload new assets. The extra option that you will have here, is the option to remove the archived label from assets that already have this label.

  1. Tick the asset(s) you want to edit and click on Edit media.
  2. On the left hand side, click on Advanced rights.
  3. Tick the box Label this media as archive.

 You will now have three options to choose from:

  1. Yes, now: This will archive the asset immediately. After the upload/edit, the asset will appear as archived in the asset bank.
  2. Yes, from this date: Here you can set an expiration date for the asset. Until this date is met, the asset will be normally visible in the asset bank. After this date, the asset will automatically be archived by the system. You can also change the date here if one already was set. You can also set the exact time for the archiving. The date displays in the time zone of the user. If the user does not have the time zone set up for his/her account, the portal time zone is taken into account.
  3. No: Selecting this option will remove the archived label from all assets that have this label.

While editing an existing asset in the asset detail view

  1. Open an asset by clicking on the thumbnail in the asset bank.
  2. Click on Edit
  3. Click on Advanced rights
  4. Click on Mark as archive material

You will now have two options to choose from: 

  1. Now: This will archive the asset immediately. After the upload/edit, the asset will appear as archived in the asset bank.
  2. On Date to archive: Here you can set an expiration date for the asset. Until this date is met, the asset will be normally visible in the asset bank. After this date, the asset will automatically be archived by the system. You can also change the date here if one already was set. You can also set the exact time for the archiving. The date displays in the time zone of the user. If the user does not have the time zone set up for his/her account, the portal time zone is taken into account.

When editing in "detail asset view", you can remove the archived label by clearing Mark as archive material.

Permission management

Access permission management screen by going to Settings > User & Rights > Permission management.

You can enable/disable the following rights regarding archived assets under Media:

  1. Access to archived material: Enabling this option will allow users to see archived assets in the asset bank. If this is disabled, the user will not be able to see archived assets at all.
  2. Download archive: This will allow users to download archived assets. It is advised to enable this in conjunction with Access to archived materials, otherwise users will be able to see thumbnails of archived assets, but won’t be able to enter the detail view of the asset.

 Video Tutorial#: AB002IP

####

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments