Permission Profile Management

  • Updated

In Permission Management, you can create and manage permission profiles. A permission profile is a predefined set of permissions that defines what your users can do in the portal and which Bynder modules they can access. This varies from light permissions that many users need, such as viewing and downloading assets, to access rights that allow certain users to upload and edit assets to heavier permissions that give managerial or full administrator rights.

Best Practices for Permission Management

  • Avoid using generic names for your permission profiles, such as 'Marketing.' Use specific naming instead that better describes the roles of the internal and external people working with Bynder. For example, 'Digital Marketing Content Creator.' This allows you to grant access rights, more specifically, without compromising security.

  • Match the permission profile of internal or external users with their role within your organization or as an external party.

Create a Permission Profile

  1. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management.

  2. Click configure-users_plus-sign.png to add a new permission profile.

    permission_profiles.png
  3. Enter the Profile Name and Save.

    PROFILE_NAME.png
  4. Click Save.

  5. Select the newly created permission profile and click empty_box.png. You can begin checking the permissions associated with this permission profile.
    new_permission_profile_settings.png

  6. Permission dependencies: Some permissions are dependent on others. When relevant, you’ll see a tooltip that explains which other permission(s) need to be enabled before you can enable that permission.

     

  7. [optional] You can make this permission profile or others in your account the default profile for your users. Navigate to the permission profile and click three_dots.png > Check Set as a default profile.
    set_as_default_profile.png

  8. [optional] If you are making more than one permission profile and want to save time you can duplicate a permission profile. Select the permission profile you would like to duplicate click three_dots.png check Duplicate Profile.

Delete Permission Profile

Important

Make sure there are no longer user accounts assigned to the permission profile that you want to delete, otherwise, the permission profile cannot be deleted.

  1. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management.

  2. Navigate to the left-side bar to find the permission profile you would like to delete. Click three_dots.png and select Delete profile.

    set_as_default_profile.png
  3. Read the warning message and click Yes, delete if you wish to permanently remove the permission profile.

    Important

    This action cannot be undone.

Tip

Would you like to compare permission profiles?

Select multiple permission profiles to compare them. Alternatively, you can select the tick box at the top of the left sidebar to select all the permission profiles.

Assign or update a user's permission profile

By assigning users to the right permission profile you can decide what users can do in the portal. More responsibilities in the portal come with more permissions. With a variety of permission profiles you can ensure that your light, regular and heavy users have the right permissions and access levels.

Update the permission profile for a single user:

  1. Navigate to settings-icon-small.png Settings > Users & rights > User Management.

  2. Either navigate or search for the user and click three_dots.pngnext to the user name.

  3. Select edit-metadata_pencil.png.

    Tip

    Does the user not exist yet?

    Create a new user account and immediately assign the person to the right permission profile. Read more about it here.

  4. Under Set user profile, select the permission profile from the dropdown.

    set_user_profile.png

    Tip

    Learn how to create a permission profile here.

  5. Click Save.

Update the permission profile for users in batch

  1. Navigate to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & Rights > User Management.

  2. Either navigate or search for the users you would like to update the permission profile for.

  3. Check the box next to the users.

  4. Click in the top navigation, then enter the name of the permission profile.

  5. Click Save.

Helpful information

  • A user can belong to one permission profile only.
  • When you upgrade users by giving them more rights, they can move, for example, from Regular to Heavy users. You have a specific number of light, regular, and heavy users that you can use as per your contract. If you reach your user limit, you might have to deactivate some users or contact your Customer Support Manager to extend the number of users per user profile.
  • You can filter for a specific permission profile in the top navigation by clicking Profile and selecting it in the dropdown.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

We're sorry to hear that!

Find out more in our community

Have more questions? Find out more in our community